The Court shall be a rectangle 78 feet (23.77 m.) long and 27 feet (8. 23 m.) wide. It shall be divided across the middle by a net suspended from a cord or metal cable of a maximum diameter of one-third of an inch (0.8 cm.), the ends of which shall be attached to, or pass over, the tops of the two posts, which shall be not more than 6 inches (15 cm.) square or 6 inches (15 cm.) in diameter. These posts shall not be higher than 1 inch (2.5 cm.) above the top of the net cord. The centers of the post shall be 3 feet (.914 m.) outside the Court on each side and the height of the posts shall be such that the top of the cord or metal cable shall be 3 feet 6 inches (1.07 m.) above the ground.

When a combined doubles (see Rule 34) and singles court with a doubles net is used for singles, the net must be supported to a height of 3 feet 6 inches (1.07 m.) by means of two posts, called “singles sticks”, which shall be not more than 3 inches (7.5 cm.) square or 3 inches (7.5 cm.) in diameter. The centers of the singles sticks shall be 3 feet (.914 m.) outside the singles Court on each side. The net shall be extended fully so that it fills completely the space between the two posts and shall be of sufficiently small mesh to prevent the ball passing through. The height of the net shall be 3 feet (.914 m.) at the center, where it shall be held down taut by a strap not more than 2 inches (5 cm.) wide and completely white in colour. These shall be a band covering the cord or metal cable and the top of the net of not less than 2 inches (5 cm.) nor more than 2 ½ inches (6. 35 cm.) in depth on each side and completely white in colour. There shall be not advertisement on the net, strap band or singles sticks.

The lines bounding the ends and sides of the Court shall respectively be called the base lines and the sidelines. On each side of the net, at a distance of 21 feet (6.40 m.) from it and parallel with it, shall be drawn the service lines. The space on each side of the net between the service-line and the side-line shall be divided into two equal parts called the service-courts by the center service-line, which must be 2 inches (5 cm.) in width, drawn half-way between, and parallel with the side-line. Each base-line shall be bisected by an imaginary continuation of the center service-line to a line 4 inches (10 cm.) in length and 2 inches (5 cm.) in width called “the center mark” drawn inside the Court, at right angles to and in contact with such base-lines. All other lines shall be not less than 1 inch (2.5 cm.) nor more than 2 inches (5 cm.) in width, except the base-line which may be not more than 4 inches (10 cm.) in width, and all measurements shall be made to the outside of the lines. All lines shall be of uniform colour. If advertising or any other material is placed at the back of the Court, it may not contain white, or yellow. A light colour may only be used if this does not interfere with the vision of the players.

If advertisement is placed on the chairs of the linemen sitting at the back of the court, they may not contain white or yellow. A light colour may only be used if this does not interfere with the vision of the players.

Note 1 :

In Davis Cup, Fed Cup and the Official Championships of the International Tennis Federation, specific requirements with regard to the space behind the baseline and at the sides are included in the respective Regulations for these events.

Note 2 :

I At Club or recreational level, the space behind each baseline should be not less than 18 feet (5.5 m.) and at the sides not less than 10 feet (3.05 m.).


The permanent fixtures of the court shall include not only the net, posts, singles sticks, cord or metal cable, strap and band, but also, where there are any such, the back and side stops, the stands, fixed movable seats and chairs round the Court, and their occupants, all other fixtures around and above the court, and the Umpire, Net-cord Judge, Foot fault Judge, Linesmen and Ball Boys when in their respective places.


For the purpose of this Rule, the world “Umpire” comprehends the Umpire, the persons entitled to a seat on the Court, and all those persons designed to assist the Umpire in the conduct of a match.

Case 1.Can there be more than one set of strings on the hitting surface of racket?

Case 2.Is the stringing pattern of a racket considered to be generally uniform and flat if the strings are on more than one plane?

Decision : No.

Case 3.Can vibration-dampening device be placed on the string of a racket and if so, where can they be placed?

Decision : Yes; but such device may be placed only outside the pattern of the crossed strings.

Case 4.In the course of play, a player accidentally breaks the strings of his racket. Can he continue to play with the racket in this condition?

Decision : Yes.


Case 1. Does a player, attempting a stroke, lose the point if he crosses an imaginary line in the extension of the net
A. Before striking the ball
B. After striking the ball?

Decision :

He does not lose the point in either case by crossing the imaginary line and provided he does not enter the lines bounding his opponent’s Court (Rule 20(e)). In regard to hindrance, his opponent may ask for the decision of the Umpire under Rules 21 and 25.

Case 2. The Server claims that the Receiver must stand within the lines bounding his Court. Is this necessary?

Decision : No.

The Receiver may stand wherever he pleases on his own side of the net.


The choice of ends and the right to be Server or Receiver in the first game shall be decided by toss. The player winning the toss may choose or require his opponent to choose: –

a. The right to be Server or Receiver, in which case the other player shall choose the end; or

b. The end, in which case the other players shall choose the right to be Server or Receiver.

Case 1. Do players have the right to new choices if the match is postponed or suspended before it has started?

Decision : Yes.

The toss stands, but new choice may be made with respect to service and end.


The service shall be delivered in the following manner. Immediately before commencing to serve, the Server shall stand with both feet at rest behind (i.e. further from the net than) the base line, and within the imaginary continuations of the center-mark and side-line. The Server shall then project the ball by hand into the air in any direction and before it hits the ground strike it with his racket, and the delivery shall be deemed to have been completed at the moment of the impact of the racket and the ball. A player with the use of only one arm may utilize his racket for the projection.

Case 1. May the Server in a singles game take his stand behind the portion of the base line between the sideline of the Singles Court and the Doubles Court?

Decision : No.

Case 2. If a player, when serving, throws up two or more balls instead of one, does he lose that service?

Decision : No.

A let should be called, but if the Umpire regards the action as deliberate he may take action under Rule 21.


The Server shall throughout the delivery of the Service:

a. Not change his position by walking or running. The Server shall not by slight movements of the feet which do not materially affect the location originally taken up by him, be deemed “to change his position by walking or running”.

b. Not touch with either foot, any area other than that behind the base line within the imaginary extension of the center-mark and sidelines.


A. In delivering the service, the Server shall stand alternately behind the right and left halves of the Court beginning from the right in every game. If service from a wrong half of the Court occurs and is undetected, all play resulting from such wrong service or services shall stand, but the inaccuracy of station shall be corrected immediately it is discovered.

B. The ball served shall pass over the net and hit the ground within the Service Court, which is diagonally opposite, or upon any line bounding such Court, before the Receiver returns it.


The Service is a fault:

A. If the Server commits any breach of Rules 7, 8 or 9 (b);

B. If he misses the ball in attempting to strike it;

C. If the ball served touches a permanent fixtures (other than the net, strap or band) before it hits the ground.

Case 1. After throwing a ball up preparatory to serving, the Server decides not to strike at it and catches it instead. Is it a fault?

Decision : No.

Case 2. In serving a singles game played on a Doubles Court with doubles posts and singles sticks, the ball hits a singles stick and then hits the ground within the lines of the correct Service Court. Is this a fault or a let?

Decision :

In Serving it is a fault, because the singles stick, the doubles post, and that portion of the net or band between them are permanent fixtures. (Rules 2 and 10, and note to Rule 24.)


After a fault (if it is the first fault) the Server shall serve again from behind the same half of the Court from which he served that fault, unless the service was from the wrong half, when, in accordance with Rule 9, the Server shall be entitled to one service only from behind the other half.

A player serves from a wrong Court. He loses the point and then claims it was fault because of his wrong station.

Decision :

The point stands as played and the next service should be from the correct station according to the score.

Case 2. The point score being 15 all, Server, by mistake, serves from the left-hand Court. He wins the point. He then serves again from the right-hand Court, delivering a fault. This mistake in station is then discovered. Is he entitled to the previous point? From which Court should he next serve?

Decision :

The previous point stands. The next service should be from the left-hand Court, the score being 30/15, and the Server having served one fault.


The Server shall not serve until the Receiver is ready. If the latter attempts to return the service, he shall be deemed ready. If, however, the Receiver signifies that he is not ready, he may not claim a fault because the ball does not hit the ground within the limits fixed for the service.


In all cases where a let has to be called under the rules, or to provide for an interruption to play, it shall have the following interpretations: –

a. When called solely in respective of a service that one service only shall be replayed.

b. When called under any other circumstance, the point shall be replayed.

Case 1. A service is interrupted by some cause outside those defined in Rule 14. Should the service only be replayed?

Decision : No.

The whole point must be replayed.

Case 2. If a ball in play becomes broken, should a let be called?

Decision : Yes.


The Service is a let :-

a. If the ball served touches the net, strap or band, and is otherwise good, or, after touching the net, strap or band, touches the Receivers or anything which he wears or carries before hitting the ground.

b. If a service or a fault is delivered when the Receiver is not ready (see Rule 12).

In case of a let, that particular service not count, and the Server shall serve again, but a service let does not annul a previous fault.


At the end of the first game the Receiver shall become Server, and the Server Receiver; and so on alternately in all the subsequent games of a match. If a player serves out of turn, the player who ought to have served shall serve as soon as the mistake is discovered, but all points scored before such discovery shall stand. A fault served before such discovery shall not stand. If a game shall have been completed before such discovery, the order of service shall remain as altered.


The players shall change ends at the end of the first, third and every subsequent alternate game of each set, and at the end of each set unless the total number of games in such set is even, in which case the changes is not made until the end of the first game of the next set.

However there will be no rest allowed after the first game of the set but there will be a change of sides. At the end of each set the players are entitled to a two-minute break.

If a mistake is made and the correct sequence is not followed the players must take up their correct station as soon as the discovery is made and follow their original sequence.


A ball is in play from the moment at which it is delivered in service. Unless a fault or a let is called it remains in play until the point is decided.

Case 1. A player fails to make a good return. No call is made and the ball remains in play. May his opponent later claim the point after the rally has ended?

Decision : No.

The point may not be claimed if the players continue to play after the error has been made, provided the opponent was not hindered.


a. If the ball served, not being a let under Rule 14, touches the Receivers or anything which he wears or carries, before it hits the ground;

b. If the Receiver otherwise loses the point as provided by Rule 20.


The Receiver wins the Point: –

a. If the Server serves two consecutive faults;

b. If the Server otherwise loses the points as provided by Rule 20.


A player loses the point if: –

a. He fails before the ball in play has hit the ground twice consecutively, to return it directly over the net (except as provided in Rule 24 (a) or (c); or

b. He returns the ball in play so that it hits the ground, a permanent fixtures, or other object, outside any of the lines which bound his opponent’s Court; or

c. He volleys the ball and fails to make a good return even when standing outside the Court; or

d. In playing the ball he deliberately carries or catches it on his racket or deliberately touches it with his racket more than once; or

e. He or his racket (in his hand or otherwise) or anything which he wears or carries touches the net, posts, singles sticks, cord or metal cable, strap or band, or the ground within his opponent’s Court at any time while the ball is play; or

f. He volleys the ball before it has passed the net; or

g. The ball in play touches him or anything that he wears or carries, except his racket in his hand or hands; or

h. He throws his racket at and hits the ball; or

i. He deliberately and materially changes the shape of his racket during the playing of the point.

Case 1. In serving, the racket flies from the Server’s hand and
Touches the net before the ball has touched the ground. Is this a fault, or does the player lose the point?